Wine-oh…

A friend of mine has decided to get the wheels turning on a second career… in viticulture.  The idea is to create a really cool, biodynamic-organic winery in the area, which I think is a super idea.  Because of my rampant enthusiasm, I was invited to help with the planting party… and then I was commissioned to cupcake it up to treat the hard-working friend-volunteers out in the fields.

Friends who dig and plant need sustenance, and sustenance should always come with frosting, I say.

I decided that a theme was screaming at me: wine!  The quagmire that is Pinterest led me to this recipe, and to this one, too… and my path was set.   It seems that wine and sugar are meant to coalesce: the chocolate cuppies were almost flourless and the dense, fudgey flavour was enhanced by the juicy punch of full-bodied wine in the frosting; the sparkling wine in the white cupcakes was effervescent… that frosting was fluffy and delightful.

To round out the selection (teetotalers and kiddies needed consideration!), I made a batch of vanilla cupcakes (doctored up cake mix… added whipping cream among other secret stuff) topped with orange-coloured frosting with a cherry on top.  Deeelightful.

cupcakes

A fanciful display of my vine-planting, wine-inspired cupcakes. The masses gobbled them up nicely.

new angle

View from above… I got the great tiered tray and cake stand from a little shop in Topsham last year.

choco-chianti

A close-up of the chocolate-chianti variety, topped with a lovely little red grape.

sparkling wine cupcake

This photo doesn’t do this lovely little gem (topped with a single elegant dragee) justice… It was really quite pretty in person.

sunny vanilla

The humble vanilla cupcake steps into the sunshine in bold orange, pink, and red. Superstar!

While I was clearly distracted by my creations, the grounds -and activity therein!- were equally enticing.

vine crate

A crate of vines, waiting to be planted.

tree

The gnarly old tree by the bridge…

baby grapes

Cute little grapes… a preview of grape things to come!

I love wineries… and I love friends.  I can’t wait for the vines to grow, for the grapes to appear, and for the wine to pour!

~S

About cezannesrainbow

I'm a painter-reader-teacher-baker-traveller-draw-er-decorator. I like to surround myself with people, but I also like to cocoon and putter about, just me and my dog. I like karaoke; I loathe dance clubs; I adore musical theatre. Paris is my favourite city (which isn't very original, I know); Barbados is my favourite place to relax: and Kauai is the prettiest place I've seen yet.
This entry was posted in Ottawa and Environs, Sugar&Spice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Wine-oh…

  1. Christina says:

    The cupcakes look awesome! Very professional looking!

Leave a comment