Climbing the walls…

Note one on England (or at least the parts that I saw): the walls breed flowers.  Often, these accidental gardens were much more intriguing than the intentional ones.  I was fascinated by the frequency with which greenery sprouted healthily from bricks.  I suppose it’s due to the insane amount of wet weather the Brits are blessed with… combined with the fact that they have these lovely little half-walls around their front steps and instead of fences.

Oxford

Wall Garden 1: Oxford

Tintagel

Wall Garden 2: Tintagel

St. Ives

Wall Garden 3: St. Ives

Pendennis

Wall Garden 4: Pendennis

Lands End

Wall Garden 5: Land's End

I think it’s the contrasting textures that get me… and the fact that the walls must be fairly old to accommodate growth like that.  All I know is that it’s not something I hope to recreate, despite the fact that these little wall gardens delighted me immensely.

~S

 

 

About cezannesrainbow

I'm a painter-reader-teacher-baker-traveller-draw-er-decorator. I like to surround myself with people, but I also like to cocoon and putter about, just me and my dog. I like karaoke; I loathe dance clubs; I adore musical theatre. Paris is my favourite city (which isn't very original, I know); Barbados is my favourite place to relax: and Kauai is the prettiest place I've seen yet.
This entry was posted in In a Faraway Land... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment